General Purposes & Audit Committee - Mayoralty & Honorary Freedom Selection Sub-Committee

Meeting held on Tuesday, 7 May 2019 at 6.00 pm in F10, Town Hall, Katharine Street, Croydon CR0 1NX

MINUTES

Present: Councillor Tony Newman (Chair);

Councillors Clive Fraser, Simon Hall, Jason Perry and Mario Creatura

Apologies: Councillor Tim Pollard

PART A

7/19 Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Councillor Tim Pollard with Councillor Creatura substituting.

8/19 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting held on 28 January 2019 were agreed as an accurate record.

9/19 **Disclosures of interest**

There were no declarations of pecuniary interests. Members confirmed their disclosure of interest forms were accurate and up-to-date.

10/19 **Urgent Business (if any)**

There were no items of urgent business.

11/19 Civic Awards (Part A)

RESOLVED: the Members of the Committee **AGREED** the recommendations in the report to:

- a) Confer the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwomen on former Councillors Donald Speakman and Valerie Shawcross OBE in recognition of their eminent services to the Council; and
- b) Make arrangements for hospitability and awards as detailed in Section 4 of the report.

12/19 Exclusion of the Press and Public

The following motion was **AGREED**:

"That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information falling within those paragraphs indicated in Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended."

13/19 Civic Awards (Part B)

The Members of the Committee discussed the nominations from the political group leaders and resolved to accept these as detailed in the resolution taken by Members on agenda item 5.

The meeting ended at 6.05 pm

Signed:	
Date:	***************************************